• Decrease font size
  • Increase font size
  • Print Page
  • Print to PDF

Public consultation on NSW child safe standards in 2019

17 December 2018

The Office of the Children’s Guardian is exploring the benefits of introducing child safe standards in NSW.

Public consultation is expected to begin in February 2019.

We will be seeking views on how the standards should be implemented, including:

  • which organisations should be required to comply with the child safe standards
  • the approach to building the capacity of organisations to be child safe
  • how the NSW Office of the Children’s Guardian will monitor and enforce compliance with the standards, with consideration of the role of existing regulators and funding bodies
  • the role of parents in driving demand for organisations to be child safe.

To receive updates when new information about the consultation is available please email us to be added to our distribution list. 

About the standards

The standards were developed by the Royal Commission into Institutional Responses to Child Sexual Abuse based on their findings and research. The standards aim to help organisations that provide services and facilities for children to promote child safety and minimise risk of harm to children.

The royal commission recommended the following 10 standards:

  • Standard 1: Child safety is embedded in institutional leadership, governance and culture
  • Standard 2: Children participate in decisions affecting them and are taken seriously
  • Standard 3: Families and communities are informed and involved
  • Standard 4: Equity is upheld and diverse needs are taken into account
  • Standard 5: People working with children are suitable and supported
  • Standard 6: Processes to respond to complaints of child sexual abuse are child focused
  • Standard 7: Staff are equipped with the knowledge, skills and awareness to keep children safe through continual education and training
  • Standard 8: Physical and online environments minimise the opportunity for abuse to occur
  • Standard 9: Implementation of the Child Safe Standards is continuously reviewed and improved
  • Standard 10: Policies and procedures document how the institution is child safe.

You can find out more about the child safe standards on the Royal Commission’s website.