• Decrease font size
  • Increase font size
  • Print Page
  • Print to PDF

New SAFE series – workshops, resources now available

2 September 2016

The Office of the Children’s Guardian has created a new child safe organisations resource: the SAFE book series.  

The SAFE series is a set of four books for children under six and is based around the characters Sam, Andy, Fiona and Eve. The books provide protective behaviour messages for children 2-6 years old.

In Sam the safe explorer, Sam helps children identify where they might feel unsafe. In Fiona finds five heroes, children are introduced to the concept of having a network of people to help if they feel scared or upset. Andy learns the undies rule is more instructional as it helps children learn that the parts of their body covered by their undies are private and that they’re in charge of what’s under their clothes. Eve listens to her feelings encourages children to speak up if they feel sad or unsafe.

The books provide educators and caregivers with tools and resources to reinforce protective behaviours messages:

  • children have the right to feel safe at all times
  • nothing is so awful that you cannot talk about it
  • children should be listened to
  • children will be believed

The books have been developed in response to feedback received from participants attending Child Safe Organisations training. Participants told us they wanted to introduce protective behaviours for children but felt that they needed specific resources to support this. Now, these bright and engaging stories are set to become an important tool to protect the children in NSW.  

The books and accompanying resources are free of charge to organisations attending a SAFE series workshop.

To find out more, go to www.kidsguardian.nsw.gov.au/SAFE